Members rejoice at Chamber's annual dinner and awards

By KEVIN BURNHAM

Sat, 10/15/2022 - 8:45am



The night was for celebrating success and moving forward and the approximately 125 members and guests of Boothbay Harbor Region Chamber of Commerce's annual dinner meeting and awards did just that Oct. 13.

Held at Boothbay Railway Village Museum, the well-run event featured a brief membership meeting in the Village church, followed by a cocktail hour in the antique car building, and dinner and award presentations in the former Boothbay Town Hall.

Following the membership meeting where outgoing BHRCC Executive Director Lisa Walby and outgoing board president Doug Goldhirsch gave reports and announced the new board and executive committee, the guests mingled, drank and ate appetizers among the antique cars as local musician Dave Gagne provided music. Train rides were provided from Freeport Station for those who wanted to take a short trip to the cocktail party.

Walby opened the post-dinner program by welcoming the upbeat crowd and thanking the evening's sponsors: Bangor Savings Bank, Bath Savings, Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens, Carousel Marina and Whale's Tale, Coastal Maine Popcorn, First National Bank, Harbor Pine Hospitality and Events, Mine Oyster, Newcastle Realty, Linekin Home and Boothbay Railway Village Museum.

After BRVM founder George McEvoy and board member Holly Stover spoke about some history of the Village, Walby thanked the hosts, then visited each table to release them to the buffet line.

The dinner, provided by the staff of Mine Oyster and Boat House Bistro, featured salads, pasta selections, bread and dessert.

Following dinner, Walby spoke fondly of Goldhirsch and his six years on the board and Goldhirsch praised the membership and Walby for a successful year. Walby presented Goldhirsch with a parting gift.

After Walby reviewed the myriad events the Chamber was involved in and sponsored during the past year, the annual awards were handed out. The award certificates were handed out by Goldhirsch and incoming board president Julie Roberts.

The nominees for each award were voted on by Chamber members. The winners each thanked the Chamber for the honor.



The two winners of the Chamber board's two special awards, Scott Larson and Paul Coulombe, drew great applause from the audience. Larson, who couldn't attend (it was his birthday!) received the Chamber Appreciation Award and Coulombe received the Charitable Giving Community Award.

The awards, those nominated and winners of each are listed below.

New board members include Abby Fessenden (Newagen Inn/Midcoast Hospitality Group), Angela "Gigi" Frost (Pier One Pizza & Pub), and Sarah Winchenbach (Bath Savings).

The current board of directors includes Jason Denby, Julie Roberts, Alyssa Allen, Michaela Bitterman, Charlie Bamberg, Joanna Breen, Tricia Campbell, Angelo DiGiulian, Clint Miller and Jaymes Shive. Roberts is the new board president, Allen is the new vice president, Denby is the new secretary and Shive is the new treasurer.

The Chamber office staff includes Cindy Mastrella, member services coordinator; llene Vactor, guest services coordinator; and Kjirsten Flores, who will soon be the Chamber's marketing coordinator after returning from travel. Walby will take a part-time job as administrative director, following her training to become a flight attendant.

Award winners

Business of the Year

Janson's Clothing was the winner. The award is "for demonstrating excellence in workforce development, business growth, excellent customer service and employee satisfaction." Nominated were Janson's Clothing, J. Edward Knight, Brady's, Coastal Maine Popcorn and Bristol Marine.

New Business of the Year

Brisetto's Cafe took home the award "for demonstrating excellence in your field, contributing to our business community, and holding the promise of being here for many years to come." Nominated were Pedego Electric Bikes, Atlantic Edge, Brisetto's Cafe, Whale's Tale and Seafarer's Pub and Harborside 1901.

Citizen of the Year

Bob Hasch won. "This award recognizes an individual who through his or her unselfish commitment to characteristics of community citizenship and serves as an example to all." Nominated were Betty Maddocks, Bob Hasch, Holly Stover, Paul Couloumbe and Julie Roberts.

Most Notable Non-Profit

Boothbay Region Land Trust won. "This award is in recognition of a non-profit organization that demonstrates outstanding performance, superior dedication and positive attitude in supporting the region." Nominated were Harbor Theater, Boothbay Region Land Trust, Boothbay Harbor Memorial Library, Boothbay Harbor Rotary Club and Community Resource Council.

Rising Star in Business

The award went to Nick and Kristin Page. "This award recognizes an outstanding professional entrepreneur who is on the 'rise,' demonstrates a proven commitment to our community through their outstanding achievements, leadership and community involvement." Nominated were Nick Ullo, Shannon Schmelzer, Nick and Kristin Page, Alyssa Allen and Elizabeta Gasparel.

Rising Star in Community Excellence – Young Adult and Youth

Taking home these awards were Florin luga, Young Adult, and Suzie Edwards, Youth "for demonstrating a proven commitment to our community through their outstanding achievements, leadership and community involvement. This individual also goes above and beyond to support the needs of local organizations and individuals." Young Adults nominated were Emma Rideout, Jax van der Veen, Florin luga, Troy Plummer and Johnny Hepburn. Youth nominated were Colby Allen, Suzie Edwards, Emerson Harris, Brianna Campbell and Rachel Barter.

Educator of the Year in the Boothbay Region

Winning the award was Tricia Campbell "for excellence in teaching practices that reflect the highest standards within and outside the classroom, the ability to inspire, promote and sustain the intellectual development of students and to guide them to become problem solvers and collaborative workers – traits that lead to success after high school." Nominated were Mark Gorey, Manon Lewis, Tricia Campbell, Mike Cherry and Charlinda Carlson.

Chamber Appreciation Award

This award went to Scott Larson, "in recognition of someone who has worked with our Chamber to advance what makes Lincoln County special and unique."

Charitable Giving Community Award

The winner was Paul Coulombe, "recognizing outstanding achievements in philanthropy, community involvement and giving of their time and talents to better the Boothbay Harbor Region."